Changing Settings for the 'Remember Me' Checkbox and Cookie

From ServiceNow Wiki
Home > Administer > Security > Login > Changing Settings for the 'Remember Me' Checkbox and Cookie
Jump to: navigation, search
Security

The latest release this documentation applies to is Fuji. For the Geneva release, see Platform security. Documentation for later releases is also on docs.servicenow.com.


1 Overview

When the Remember me check box is selected at login, a cookie is stored on the user's computer. This cookie automatically authenticates the user upon subsequent visits. If the user logs out, the cookie is destroyed. The default value of the Remember me check box is controlled by one property, and whether or not the check box appears on the login page is controlled by a different property.

2 Changing the Default Value of the Remember me Check Box

This procedure requires the admin role.

  1. Navigate to System Properties > UI Properties.
  2. Locate the Default value of "Remember me" checkbox on login page property (glide.ui.remember.me.default).
  3. To set the default value of the Remember me check box to No, clear the property check box.
  4. To restore the default value of the Remember me check box to Yes, select the property check box.

3 Removing the Remember me Check Box

This procedure requires the security_admin role.

  1. Click the lock icon (Icon-elevated.png) by the user name and activate elevated privileges for the security_admin role.
  2. Navigate to System Properties > UI Properties.
  3. Locate the Remove "Remember me" checkbox from login page property (glide.ui.forgetme).
  4. Select the property check box.
    This setting removes the Remember me check box, invalidates existing cookies, and disables Remember me functionality entirely.
  5. To restore the Remember me check box to the login page, clear the property check box.
Was this article helpful?
Yes, I found what I needed
No, I need more assistance