Creating Users and Associating to a Group

From ServiceNow Wiki
Home > Administer > User Administration > Users and Groups > Creating Users and Associating to a Group
Jump to: navigation, search
User Administration

1 Overview

When you add users to the ServiceNow system, make sure that each user is associated with a group. Consider which fields are mandatory. Full, complete user profiles are the most useful. Use a unique user ID when creating new profiles or updating existing profiles. If all logs are updated by the admin user, it becomes difficult to track what was configured and by whom. Consider creating an ITIL-based role for each administrator for these types of tasks. To import large numbers of users at once, consider using import sets.

2 Creating a User

  1. Navigate to User Administration > Users.
  2. Click New.
  3. Enter the user's information (see table).
  4. [Optional] Configure the form to add the Schedule field and assign a schedule to the user.
  5. Click Submit.
    The new user record appears at the top of the list.
Field Description
User ID Create a unique identifier for this user's ServiceNow login user name. Typical examples of user IDs are cwitherspoon and charlie.witherspoon. You cannot create a new user whose User ID duplicates an existing user. If you do import duplicates from an update set, the more recently created name takes the duplicate User ID.
First name Enter the user's full first name.
Last name Enter the user's last name.
Title Enter a title or job description, or select one from the list.
Department Select the user's department from the list.
Password Assign a password to the user. This password can be permanent or temporary.
Password needs reset Select this check box to require the user to change the password during the first login.
Locked out Select this check box to lock the user out of the instance and terminate all of the user's active sessions. The system prevents users with the admin role from locking themselves out (starting with the Fuji release).
Active Select this check box to make this user active. Only the administrator sees inactive users in:
  • Lists of users
  • The selection list on reference fields (magnifying glass icon)
  • The auto-complete list that appears when you type into a reference field
Web service access only Select this check box to designate this user as a non-interactive user. This field is available with Non-Interactive Sessions, starting with the Calgary release.
Internal Integration User Select this check box to designate this user as an internal integration user. This field is available starting with the Dublin release.
Date format Select the user's preferred format for dates.
Email Enter the user's email address.

To enter a non-standard email address that does not pass field validation, you must deactivate the validation script first.

  1. Navigate to System Definition > Validation Scripts.
  2. Select the email record.
  3. Clear the Active check box and save the change.
  4. Complete the user profile, including the email address, and update or submit the record.
  5. Reactivate the email validation script.
Notification Select the type of notification to send to this user. The default is Email. If you select None, the user can still receive notifications if he or she subscribes to the notification or is specified as a recipient in the Email Notifications form.

To ensure that user’s notifications remain active, the user must have at least one primary email along with their SMS device. This is because the business rule Update User Record accounts only for email devices, and if there are none, it disables the user's notification preferences regardless of having or not having an SMS device.

To prevent notification completely, set a condition on the Email Notification form itself that does not deliver the notification if this field is set to None.

Calendar integration Select Outlook to have this user receive meeting notifications via email directly to the calendar. Otherwise, select None.
Time zone Select the user's time zone.
Business phone Enter this user's business phone number.
Mobile phone Enter this user's mobile phone number.
Photo Attach a photo of the user, if appropriate.
Geolocation tracked Select the check box to enable location tracking. This field is available when geolocation is active, starting with the Eureka release.
Location Select the user's usual location.

This field is visible when geolocation is active, starting with the Eureka release.

3 Associating the User to a Group

  1. Navigate to User Administration > Groups.
  2. Click the group to which you want to assign the user.
  3. In the Group Members related list, click Edit.
  4. Select the user in the Collection list, and then click Add.
  5. Click Save.

4 Assigning Roles to the User

A user automatically inherits roles from all groups the user belongs to. These roles cannot be deleted from the user's record, only from the group's record. Roles can also be associated directly with the user.

To add roles to a user's record:

  1. Navigate to User Administration > Users.
  2. Open a user's record.
  3. In the Roles related list, click Edit.
  4. Select the desired roles in the Collection list, and then click Add.
  5. Click Save.

5 Allow Users to View Their Profile

Users are able to view their profile by clicking their name in the Welcome banner. If your users cannot do this, enable the system property.

  1. Navigate to the System Properties table by entering sys_properties.list in the navigation filter.
  2. Search for the glide.ui.welcome.profile_link property.
  3. Set the value to true.

6 Enhancements

6.1 Fuji

  • Prevents users with the admin role from locking themselves out.

6.2 Eureka

  • The Geolocation tracked field, which is available when Geolocation is activated, provides the option to track a user's location.
Was this article helpful?
Yes, I found what I needed
No, I need more assistance